Hello, fellow minimalists. This is Mark, your guide to minimalist living. Today, I want to share with you a shocking discovery I made while decluttering my closet. I found a backpack that I bought a few years ago from a thrift store. It was a simple black backpack with no brand name or logo. I thought it was a great deal, since it was only $5 and looked sturdy and spacious. But when I later looked at the label inside the backpack, I was horrified by what I saw. It said ‘Made in Pain’.

A picture of the label that says ‘Made in Pain’

I was speechless. What did this mean? Was this a desperate cry for help from the person who made this backpack? Was this one of those blink twice if you are in danger type of things? Who was this person and what kind of pain were they in? How did this backpack end up in a thrift store? Was this some kind of sick joke or prank? Or was this a message from the universe, telling me that I should stop buying things that I don’t need and that cause suffering to others?

I decided to investigate this mystery further. I searched online for any information about this backpack or the label. I found nothing. No reviews, no articles, no pictures, no videos, nothing. It was as if this backpack didn’t exist. I tried to contact the thrift store where I bought it, but they had closed down. I asked around my friends and family, but no one had ever seen or heard of such a thing. I even posted on some online forums and social media platforms, but no one replied or cared.

I was frustrated and confused. How could this be possible? How could something so bizarre and disturbing go unnoticed and unexplained? Was I the only one who had ever seen this backpack? Was I going crazy? Was this some kind of test or challenge from the minimalist gods?

I decided to take a break from my investigation and meditate on this issue. I sat down on my yoga mat, closed my eyes, and breathed deeply. I tried to calm my mind and clear my thoughts. I asked myself: What does this backpack mean to me? Why did I buy it in the first place? What value does it bring to my life? Do I really need it?

As I pondered these questions, I realized something. This backpack was not a blessing, but a curse. It was a symbol of my consumerist past, when I used to buy things without thinking about their origin, impact, or purpose. It was a reminder of how much waste and suffering I had contributed to by supporting unethical and unsustainable practices. It was a burden that weighed me down physically, mentally, and emotionally.

I opened my eyes and looked at the backpack again. I felt a surge of anger and disgust. How could I have been so blind and ignorant? How could I have been so selfish and greedy? How could I have been so stupid and foolish?

I grabbed the backpack and threw it in the trash bin. I felt a sense of relief and liberation. I had freed myself from this backpack and its pain. I had freed myself from my attachment and guilt. I had freed myself from my clutter and chaos.

I smiled and thanked the universe for showing me the truth. I had learned an important lesson: Minimalism is not just about owning less, but about caring more. Caring more about ourselves, our environment, our fellow beings, and our true happiness.

I hope you enjoyed this story and learned something from it too. If you ever find something that says ‘Made in Pain’, don’t buy it or keep it. Throw it away or donate it to someone who needs it more than you do. And remember: Less is more, but love is everything.

This is Mark, signing off. Stay minimalist, stay happy.