Hello, dear readers of Minimalist Living. This is Mark, your favorite minimalist blogger. I have some exciting news to share with you today. But first, let me apologize for the radio silence since the last post. I know you have been eagerly waiting for more tips and tricks on how to live a simple and clutter-free life. Well, the reason for my absence is that I have been very busy with a mandatory military service in my home country. Yes, you heard that right. I have been drafted into the army and have been living in a barracks for the past few months.

Now, some of you hardcore minimalists might be thinking that I have betrayed the minimalist lifestyle by joining the military. After all, the military is the epitome of anti-minimalism. They give you too much stuff that you don’t need and don’t want. For example, they gave me five t-shirts, six pairs of socks, four pairs of wool socks, three different outfits (winter coat, rain coat, regular forest camouflage), and a bunch of other junk that I have to store in a tiny locker. And if I lose any of these items, I have to pay for them. How ridiculous is that?

But don’t worry, my friends. I have not given up on minimalism. In fact, I have been using this opportunity to practice and refine my minimalist skills even more. I have been finding creative ways to reduce my possessions and my waste while living in the army. And I have learned some amazing things that I want to share with you.

Did you know that you can reuse your underwear for weeks by turning it inside out, washing it with your saliva, and drying it under the sun? Did you know that you can skip showering for days by using baby wipes and deodorant? Did you know that you can make your own toothpaste by mixing baking soda and salt? Did you know that you can use your helmet as a bowl, a pillow, a stool, and a weapon? These are just some of the hacks that I have discovered while serving in the military.

I know what you are thinking. How can I share these secrets with you if most of the things taught in the service are top secret information? Well, don’t worry. I have found a way to sneak out my laptop and write this blog post while hiding in the bathroom. I hope no one finds out or else I might get into trouble.

But enough about me. Let’s talk about you. How are you doing with your minimalist journey? Have you decluttered your closet, your kitchen, your garage, your life? Have you donated or sold all the things that don’t spark joy? Have you embraced the joy of less? If not, what are you waiting for?

I am happy to announce that Minimalist Living is planning to reboot its operations despite my military service. I will try to find some time to write more posts for you and share more insights on how to live a minimalist life even in the most challenging situations.

Thank you for reading and remember: less is more.

Picture of Me