Hello, fellow minimalists! Today I want to share my unique experience of becoming a minimalist in New Mexico. It all started when I decided to take a break from my stressful work as the author of the blog Minimalist Living and go on a solo trip to the Land of Enchantment. Little did I know that this trip would change my life forever!

Day 1: Arriving in Albuquerque

I arrived in Albuquerque with nothing but a backpack and a sense of adventure. I had booked a cheap motel room online, but when I got there, I realized it was horrible. The room was dirty, smelly, and full of bugs. There was also a weird guy outside who kept staring at me and asking me if I wanted to buy some.

I decided to leave immediately and look for another place to stay. Walking down the street, I saw a flyer that said, “Looking for an Assistant for the Glass-Making Project.” It sounded interesting, so I called the number on it and got directions to a nearby RV park.

There, I met Walter and Jesse, two friendly guys who said they were working on an art project involving glass-making. They said they needed an assistant to help them with tasks like mixing chemicals, cleaning equipment, and packing boxes. They offered me $1000 per day plus free accommodations in their RV. They also said they were minimalists who lived with only the essentials.

I thought this was an excellent opportunity to learn something new and make money while traveling. Plus, they seemed like friendly people who shared my minimalist values. So I agreed to join them.

Day 2: Learning the Art of Glass-Making

The next day, Walter and Jesse taught me how to make glass using their special equipment. They said they used a secret formula that made their glass very pure and shiny. They also said many customers loved their glass products and paid them well.

I was fascinated by the process of turning chemicals into glass using heat and mixing. It was like magic! Walter and Jesse were very patient and helpful with me. They showed me how to measure the ingredients, adjust the temperature, pour the chemicals into containers, cool them down, crush them into small rocks, weigh them on a scale, and pack them into boxes.

They also taught me some safety rules like wearing gloves, goggles, masks, and aprons; avoiding contact with skin or eyes; washing hands frequently; and not breathing in any fumes or dust.

I enjoyed working with them and learning from them. They seemed very passionate about their art project and proud of their work. They also praised me for being a quick learner and hard worker.

They told me they planned to sell their glass products in Santa Fe next week. They said they needed more assistants like me to help them meet the demand. They asked me if I wanted to stay with them longer and join them on their trip.

I was tempted to stay with them longer and join them on their trip. They were very friendly and generous to me. They also made me feel like I was part of their family. But I had other plans for my trip, and I didn’t want to overstay my welcome. So I politely declined their offer and thanked them for everything.

They understood and respected my decision. They gave me a hug and a gift: a beautiful bag of small blue stones we had made together. They said it was a token of their appreciation and friendship. They also gave me their contact information and invited me to contact them.

I said goodbye to them and left the RV park. I felt sad to leave them but also happy to have met them. They were the best thing that happened to me on my trip.

Day 3: Exploring the Beauty and Diversity of New Mexico

The last day of my trip was also fantastic. I visited some of the most beautiful places in New Mexico, like the White Sands National Park, the Carlsbad Caverns, the Taos Pueblo, and the Bandelier National Monument. I learned much about this state’s history, culture, and nature. I also met some other interesting people along the way.

But none of them compared to Walter and Jesse. They were the most memorable people I met on my trip. They taught me so much about glass-making, minimalism, and life in general. They also changed my perspective on what really matters in life.

Day 4: Leaving New Mexico

On the fourth day, it was time for me to leave New Mexico. I had driven here from my home state in my car. I packed my car with only the essentials and the beautiful bag of small blue stones that Walter and Jesse had given me. I said goodbye to them and thanked them for everything.

I promised to follow their advice and keep in touch with them. I also told them that they had inspired me and changed my life for the better.

I got into my car and drove away from the RV park. As I drove through New Mexico, I saw its beauty and diversity one last time. I felt a mix of emotions: sadness, gratitude, happiness, and excitement.

I was sad to leave this beautiful state and these wonderful people who had become my friends. But I was also grateful for the opportunity to visit this place and learn from them. I was happy for the memories we had made together and the lessons we had shared. And I was excited about what awaited me at home and beyond.